On Air Now Matt Fletcher 7:00AM - 10:00AM Email
Now Playing She's So Lovely Scouting For Girls Download

Isle of Man Sports Awards' nominees announced

The shortlist for this year's Isle of Man Sports Awards has been announced - with cyclists leading the nominations.

The annual event will take place on March 22nd at the Villa Marina with awards for sportsman and woman of the year, under 21’s, veteran and Isle of Man ambassador.

People have been nominated from a wide range of sports including cycling, field archery, equestrian, swimming, motorsport, athletics and shooting.

The full list of nominations is:

Sportsman of the Year

Mark Cavendish (cycling)

Tom Gandy (golf)

David Higgins (motorsport)

Peter Kennaugh (cycling)

Tim Kneale (shooting)

Danny McCanney (enduro)


Sportswoman of the Year

Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)

Kim Carney (hockey)

Anna Christian (cycling)

Elizabeth Holden (cycling)

Yasmin Ingham (equestrian)

Lesley Sleight (field archery).


Under 21 Sportsman of the Year

Matthew Bostock (cycling)

Alex Bregazzi (swimming)

Owen Dudley (cycling)

Ben Grainger (swimming)

Josh Hewett (high jump)

Glen Quayle (pole vault)

Kieran Tierney (football).


Under 21 Sportswoman of the Year

Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)

Ella Doherty (trials)

Elizabeth Holden (cycling)

Breeshey Jansen (golf)

Rebecca Storrie (triathlon)

Sophie Taylor (equestrian).


Disability Sportsperson of the Year

Lawrence Dyer (athletics)

Matthew Elliott (archery)

Letisha Ellis (swimming)

Ben Grainger (swimming)

Sean Jackson (football)

Zoe Lambie (athletics).


Team of the Year

Bacchanalians Men’s A Hockey Team

IOM Swimming Arena League Team

Manx Sidecar Trials Team

SMP Partners Ballasalla A Netball Team

Team RL360 Cycling Team

Thomas Bostock & William Draper - Madison Cycling Team

Vikings Ladies A Hockey Team.


Administrator of the Year

Erica Bellhouse (cycling/gymnastics)

Amanda Butler (netball)

Mike Hewison (swimming)

Tony Mepham (football)

Roy Moore (golf)

Paul Phillips (cycling).


IOM Ambassador

Mark Cavendish (cycling)

Cal Crutchlow (motorcycling)

Conor Cummins (motorcycling)

Mark Higgins (motorsport)

Tim Kneale (shooting)

Jonathan Rea (motorcycling).


Coach of the Year

Chris Bass Snr (football)

Lee Holland (swimming)

Heather Melvin (swimming)

Raj Nandha (hockey)

Janet Norbury (special olympics)

Peter Roberts (boxing)


Veteran Sportsperson of the Year

Mike Garrett (athletics)

Richard Gerrard (race walking)

Gail Griffiths (athletics)

Juan Kinley (triathlon)

Gary Kirby (mountain biking)

Lesley Sleight (field archery).


Lifetime Achievement

The recipient of this award is selected by the Sports Awards committee.

More from Isle of Man News

Recently Played

Listen Live